Lime Kilns Inn: A Review

 

DSCF1847.JPG
Lime Kilns

 

This cosy Leicestershire pub is easily accessible as it lies on A5 Watling Street. Set overlooking the Ashby canal, Lime Kilns boasts a large beer garden and was awarded ‘Hinckley and Bosworth CAMRA Pub of the Year 2016’.

The pub serves a variety of ales and ciders, and offers an extensive food menu. Meals range from traditional favourites such as scampi and chips, steaks, and a choice of pies to more unusual dishes like blueberry lamb.* As a family friendly pub, a good children’s menu is available too.

 

There is a flight of stairs from the car park to the lounge although there is disabled access to the pub. There is a very cosy, warm and welcoming atmosphere. A perfect place to pop in for a pint or a meal and enjoy the views.

The Lime Kilns website can be found here: http://limekilnsinn.co.uk/

*Recommended by this author

Personal review: I went in with a large party for my brother-in-law’s birthday. We had reserved tables. I wasn’t sure whether to try to blueberry lamb as it was something I’d never had. I’m glad I did because it was absolutely beautiful. I asked for it to be served with new potatoes, which were a good size and a good portion. The meal was also served with peas and a small, plain side salad. I’m putting the emphasis here on ‘plain’ because so many places serve salads drowned in slimy, sweet dressings so it was really nice and refreshing to have a salad that was actually fresh and tasted of salad.

 

DSCF1840
Mother’s empty plate

One of the party was my mother. She is really fussy. I took a picture of her plate as, not only had she found something she liked, she had eaten it all without a single complaint. My son was particularly impressed that the 10oz gammon was served with both egg and pineapple. We’ve already decided that we’re going back for my partner’s birthday next month.

Leave a Reply

