Working from Home

working from home

 

Just a brief one today. I was inspired to take this picture as I read a story (available from 26th August) about working from home. According to a survey, office workers who have more flexible working regimes (i.e. can work from home some or all of the time) are, in general, more productive.

As someone who works from home, I think I can agree with that, although I have never worked in an actual office. I thought I would get distracted by, well, everything. I admit that I do get distracted sometimes but no more distracted than I would get in an office.

I expect different people have different stories and reasons for preferring home-working. For me, it fits with my family. I’m not stressing about who’s going to pick the kids up or if I’ll get back in time to take them to their after school activities. I just stop when I need a break. If I fall behind, I can catch up without panicking.

It makes sense that home-workers would be more productive. You’re in a comfortable environment, no commuting, and can go to the loo whenever you need to. I find that I set aside certain times for work, then I get more done if I happen to have time. It also means that I can plan my work around my family. So if one of the kids has an appointment or something, I just do more work the day before.

You might think it’s difficult to organise your time if you work from home. Well, I’m one of the most disorganised people you could mean but I manage!

Home-working wouldn’t work for everyone, and I may be biased, but I think it’s a very good idea and makes sense that it would promote productivity.

Leave a Reply

